Can’t make it to the Sydney Writers’ Festival? Then join us at the library for an evening with participant <a href=”http://libcatalogue.hurstville.nsw.gov.au/cgi-bin/spydus.exe/ENQ/OPAC/BIBENQ/4289187?QRY=CAUBIBGeorgia Blain who will introduce her new novel Too Close to Home.” In the tradition of The Slap and Indelible Ink, Too Close to Home is a dramatic account of contemporary Australian life.

Set against the back-drop of one of the most interesting events in recent Australian political history, the demise of the Rudd government the novel is an uncomfortable domestic drama exploring the failings of Freya and Matt, a couple who cannot lead the examplary lives they pretend they want.

Her recent non-fiction Births Deaths Marriages was shortlisted for the Nita B Kibble Award in 2009. She was named one of the SMH’s Best Young Novelists in 1998 and has been shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards.

Hurstville City Library, cnr Queens Rd & Dora St

Wednesday 25th May @ 7pm

Bookings 9330 6142

Books available for sale & signing

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s