Maudie of the winner of the Children’s Book of the Year – Early Childhood, “Maudie and Bear” is a demanding and mostly obnoxious child. Bear’s patience and understanding is matched by the wonderful illustrations by Freya Blackwood. By contrast the babies in “The Tall Man and the Twelve Babies” are delightful infants full of the simple joys of childhood. Their willingness to co-operate contrasts with Maudie’s total obsession with her own desires.

But the small boy in “Look See, Look at Me” is enjoying every moment as part of a large loving family.

These delightful books all celebrate being young with the whole world before you but also show the different worlds that these small people inhabit.

From Maudie with her solitary companion to the twelve babies who act more like a litter of playful puppies, to the three-year-old who has a whole world of others, adults and children, they show that childhood is a very special world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s