Julian Barnes was announced as the 2011 winner of the Man Booker prize for fiction for his novel Sense of an Ending
Regarded as the favourite to win since the short list was announced on 6th September, Julian Barnes has long enjoyed critical acclaim for his writing. His books Arthur and George ,England, England and Flaubert’s Parrot were shortlisted on previous occasions.
His writing apart from fiction includes memoirs (Nothing to be Frightened Of), essays and short stories (Pulse, The Lemon Table).
The shortlisted listed authors for 2011 were:
Patrick deWitt The Sisters Brothers
Esi Edugyan Half Blood Blues
Stephen Kelman Pigeon English
A.D. Miller Snowdrops
For more about the authors and the prize go to the official Man Booker website. Borrow one of the books and let others know if you agree with the judges by adding a review and a rating on the library’s catalogue.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s