The New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards have a proud history, both in celebrating achievement by Australian writers and in helping to establish values and standards in Australian literature. These annual awards honour distinguished achievement by Australian writers, contribute to Australia’s artistic reputation, and draw international attention to some of our best writers and to the cultural environment that nurtures them. Past winners have included such notable writers as Peter Carey, Elizabeth Jolley, Thomas Keneally AO and Helen Garner.

This year’s winners and nominees include:

Book of the Year:

The Bush: Travels Through the Heart of Australia / Don Watson
The Bush: Travels in the heart of Australia / Don Watson

Christina Stead prize for fiction:



UTS Glenda Adams award for new writing:



Douglas Stewart prize for nonfiction:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s